Journal of Pirate Lingo*

profile

leave me a note

older entries

newest entry

diaryland

* not an actual journal
of pirate lingo

29.05.01 - 11:54 a.m.

Alright then, weekend update continued

SATURDAY

massive paw&booze hangover, the germans call it "katzenjammer" which I think literally means "cats wailing". i love how germans have so many unique words to describe aspects of drinking, like "Drachenfutter" which = "dragon fodder" but really means the presents you get for your wife to appease her after you come home from a night of heavy drinking. Did i make that up? I couldn't possibly have made that up. Anyway, hung out at the Blue Danube for a while & there I ran into Keith Knight -- he lives in my neighborhood! I love SF. I stayed at the Blue Danube for a while trying to read about economics, but unfortunately economics turns out to be HUGELY boring and I think i'm going to have to learn it on the street.

Later met up with Shawn to catch the 76ers game at We Cheat Tourists and Drunks (TM). We played some pool and on the first break, he simultaneously sank the eightball, the cueball and a solid. I kinda boggled at that. Do over? I think not. I takes em anyway I can get em. Also while we were watching the game, we ordered food and they had creme brulee! I think every sports bar should have creme brulee.

A brief sojourn (?) to Toys r Fucking Expensive to buy Hungry Hungry Hippos (the previous night there'd been 4 of us at the apt, drunk, and I'd thought GODDAMN if there was ever a time for hungry hippos, this was it! but didn't have it) and also purchased Tony Hawk Pro Skater 2. this may be the first playstation game I actually *like*. it lets you make your own skater, so we made one named "fatty mcghee" and we set his weight to the maximum (378 pounds) and made him shirtless with tattoos and a mohawk, and gave him calf length striped athletic socks. it was pretty funny.

In the evening, not much, very chill. (angi & I have decided that "chill" is a codeword for "suitable for old lame people", e.g. "let's check out this club, I heard it's really chill") We have become old and lame and you might as well put us in the nursing home. And make sure that nursing home has a playstation, and lots of gin.

We ended up getting sushi at 26 corner (again with the tons of free stuff-- why is that lady so nice to us? maybe cos it keeps us coming back?) and then collapsing into dust.

SUNDAY

I meant to go to work but when I went outside & the sun touched my neck I knew that there would be no work that day. As I was telling Sarah, I went to a BBQ at Elio's place in PA. It was a lot of fun and featured:

1. Eating watermelon (good summertime food)

2. Throwing watermelons

3. Monkey noises (for some reason Jenny thinks monkey noises are the funniest thing ever. Now she's got us all doing it. It's gotten to the point where most of our conversations consist exclusively of shrieks and mock-feces-flinging)

4. Shiner Bock (good tx beer, made me think of tx)

5. Pictures. (from on high! will post)

Driving back in the evening, yellow brush & gently rolling cali hills. It's a beautiful time of year & things are alive everywhere. In the evening, more virtual bruises with Tony Hawk (it's funny cos every time you mess up a move the guy crashes onto the pavement and blood spurts out of his body; my skater must have lost at least 200 gallons of blood in the hour i played) & also watched part of "Finding Forrester" starring Sean Connery and Busta Rhymes. (ok it doesn't *star* busta rhymes but really, isn't Busta Rhymes the defacto star of anything he's in?) Actual line of dialog from the movie, which I swear I'm not making up:

Sean Connery: You the man now dog!!

memorial day = tons of work, but productive

to-day = work, but productive

i have to get my life back, got to cut my hair, got to shave, got to think of something to do w/ a this weekend, got to do laundry, got to pay bills, got to clean room. i hate errands for the same reason i hate treadmills- what's the fun of running in place?

previous -- next