Journal of Pirate Lingo*

profile

leave me a note

older entries

newest entry

diaryland

* not an actual journal
of pirate lingo

02.08.04 - 12:18 a.m.

I'm back in Vegas for the weekend. Amma threw a big dinner bash, and among the attendees were a young couple named Marcus and Jolina. They were 18 and 19 years old, engaged, and getting married soon. And they had tattooed each others names on their backs! I'm talking BIG tattoos, in ornate gothic script.

While certainly tattoos are a stronger symbol of commitment than, say, wedding rings, I have to question the wisdom of etching your spouse-to-be's name into your skin. 50% American divorce rate and all. Ah, young love.

You know how Johnny Depp got "Winona Forever" tattooed on his body, and then after they broke up he had it altered to "Wino Forever"? I was trying to think of what alterations Marcus and Jolina might make in case their marriage doesn't work out.

Jolina could maybe switch MARCUS to "US", indicating patriotic fervor. Or perhaps "ARC", symbolizing the arc her life had taken? Or... uh... switch the MA to CI and have "CIRCUS"? But that would just be weird. I think "US" would be best.

As for Marcus, JOLINA easily transforms into "JO IN", which he could say stands for joining the ranks of bachelorhood once more. Though, I admit that's a stretch. Ooh I've got it-- swap the L for K and the A for a G. "JOKING". As in, "you know when we said we'd be together forever?"

Ok perhaps a tad harsh.

previous -- next