Journal of Pirate Lingo*

profile

leave me a note

older entries

newest entry

diaryland

* not an actual journal
of pirate lingo

05.13.04 - 10:23 a.m.

Ok I *really* have to pack for Hawaii tonight.

Eh, I can always pack tomorrow morning... before our flight leaves... at 6AM...

The GBA version of "Legend of Zelda: Link to the Past" showed up in my mailbox today. You know life is good when the main dilemma you are faced with is: should you take your Gameboy to Hawaii?

PROS:

  • Link to the Past is widely regarded as one of the best games of all time.
  • The plane ride will go by faster
  • Fun to play on the beach
CONS:
  • Az. will stab me in the neck with a pencil
  • Andy and Rachel will realize what an incorrigible geek I am
  • Might get sand in the cartridge slot
Clearly there are pluses and minuses. Gonna have to think this one through.

On the train today I worked myself into a frothing rage reading about the war in Iraq and Donald Rumsfield and Karl Rove and politics in general. That pretty much happens every day. I've been donating money to Kerry's campaign, but it doesn't seem very effectual. The problem with living in California is that the Republicans basically write off the state as a loss, so agitation at a local level is irrelevant. What really matters are the swing states like Ohio. I would go there to help organize, if I knew where it was. It's shaped like a box, right?

I guess I should start writing more letters to the editor. My inbox is always filled with pleas from Moveon and True Majority. Click this link to send a fax to your senator! I click the links but it seems too easy somehow. Once in a while they ask you to call your Congressperson. I think calling is more effective than writing a letter, and writing a letter is more effective than sending an email. It's hard to call your Senator or Congressperson at work though, especially since everyone can hear your phone conversations. "Hi, I'm a San Francisco voter and I'm calling to tell you I think Donald Rumsfield should resign... (realizes everyone is listening) ...and also to tell you about Sims2, which will really take Sims to the next level!"

previous -- next