Journal of Pirate Lingo*

profile

leave me a note

older entries

newest entry

diaryland

* not an actual journal
of pirate lingo

07.23.04 - 2:46 p.m.

The very first entry I ever wrote, almost 4 years ago, concerned this guy I met at a party, J.t.t.m.o.m.n.b.h.n. (Joel,though that may or may not be his name.) Joel was remarkable in that he had a pet black widow. It laid 200 eggs, causing him to beam with pride.

Anyway, I hadn't really seen or thought about him in the 4 years since that chance encounter, but last night we were having drinks with Angi's friend Ji, and it turns out Ji is Joel's girlfriend! (I guess I can dispense with the acronym now.) Ji is a small Korean girl with a surprisingly large tattoo on her upper arm. A TATTOO OF A BLACK WIDOW! No, in reality it was just a crosslaced pattern. But wouldn't that have been great?

I dreamt about a different kind of bug last night. I hate it when work seeps into my dreams. Debugging is like that. When you're chasing down an elusive bug it gets under your skin. I actually enjoy the process, as long as I'm not under the gun. But it can be frustrating when you run out of ideas and are forced to wave your hands and say things like "thread race condition? server glitch? the moon is full?" in an attempt to explain what logic dictates cannot be happening.

You know how Sherlock Holmes said "when you eliminate the impossible, what ever remains, however improbable, must be true" ?

What happens when you eliminate the impossible and there's *nothing* left?

previous -- next