Journal of Pirate Lingo*

profile

leave me a note

older entries

newest entry

diaryland

* not an actual journal
of pirate lingo

06.23.06 - 2:13 a.m.

From now on whenever people ask me what it was like growing up in Las Vegas, I'm just going to tell them to read this. It brought back a lot of fond memories. The scene in Las Vegas circa 1995 wasn't big, but it was an oasis in the desert. We spent so much time fucking around on Maryland Parkway-- browsing through the 99 cent tape bin at Benway, hiding our zines in the racks at Tower, playing Abalone at coffeeshops, listening to Rock Avenue and the Saturday rap show and the crazy freeform hours on the radio... I'd forgotten how much KUNV meant to me. In its prime it was probably the best college radio station ever.

Now KUNV plays easy listening jazz, Benway Bop is closed, and all the coffeehouses are history. The Las Vegas I cared about is long gone. It was like a flower that blossomed in the middle of nowhere.


xposted from http://jcruelty.livejournal.com/326566.html

previous -- next