Journal of Pirate Lingo*

profile

leave me a note

older entries

newest entry

diaryland

* not an actual journal
of pirate lingo

07.05.01 - 10:39 p.m.

I woke up really late today. Managed to shave & eat leftovers in time to meet S&J&A (I'm now using initials now to make life seem more mysterious) for the 4:30 showing of Spike & Mike's animation festival. On the way there we saw a gazillion "for-rent" signs, which filled me with vengeful joy. The shoe's on the other foot now, you greedy bastards. With the drop in rent prices, formerly unattainable places are within reach. Already I'm dreaming of a mansion overlooking the bay, with huge plate glass windows and maids quarters in the back. Ooh, maybe it could have a moat. And a goldfish pond. And surface-to-air missiles!! This is getting exciting.

Spike & Mike's was ok, not as engaging as I'd hoped. The best short was "dedicated to everyone who thinks Italians are like other Europeans." (cut to hilarious animated icons of Italian drivers chasing each other around and slamming into parking spaces at 80mph)

After the movie(s) we got cookies at Hot Cookie (finally! everytime we drive past we always want to jump out, run in and get a cookie, then run back to the car & get in before the light changes. but nobody ever has the nerve) & drove around the Presidio. The weather's been so gorgeous, it makes you feel like a reprobate if you stay indoors. The old military building underneath Golden Gate Bridge looks like a prison. The bay was shimmering & when the tide rolled out, you could see countless starfish stuck to boulders.

I spent much of the day trying to think up a context to use this pun on Cosmo's name ("cosmosis") that I came up with. Nobody likes it, but I will make them like it. Mark my words, you haven't heard the last of this pun.

previous -- next