Journal of Pirate Lingo*

profile

leave me a note

older entries

newest entry

diaryland

* not an actual journal
of pirate lingo

06.10.02 - 9:13 p.m.

Today was my first day of work. It was ok. I was really tired the whole day because I didn't get much sleep on Saturday (Shawn's birthday party carried on until the wee hours) or Sunday (poetry regionals at Justice League). I drank a Coke and a coffee in the afternoon, which depressed me a little because it's so easy to fall back into the software engineering routine. No doubt I will soon have a M a x i s coffee mug and some "x-tra large" white t-shirts.

My role is shaping up to be technically challenging, which puts a pit in my stomach. I don't know if I can do what they expect. Things I will have to learn soon: socket programming, how to embed an http server in an application, oracle database programming, php, and how to not scream like a little girl when asked questions like "So. How's your math?" (Really.)

The hours are going to suck. But, it's not all bad. How can you hate a job where your homework is to install and play Sim City 3000?

note: i was still too lazy to do it.

previous -- next