Journal of Pirate Lingo*

profile

leave me a note

older entries

newest entry

diaryland

* not an actual journal
of pirate lingo

08.07.02 - 6:11 p.m.

Last Saturday D. and I went to a bikram yoga class in the Mission. She goes regularly, but I'd never done bikram before.

D: "It's pretty intense... you may have trouble with it the first time."
Me: "Silence! I practically invented yoga!"

My naive assumption that experience with other types of yoga (hatha, ashtanga) would make bikram a breeze turned out to make an ass out of u and me. Mostly me. About halfway into the 90 minute class, I had to step out of the sweltering room, because I felt dizzy and was on the verge of passing out. Drenched in sweat, I stumbled towards a bench and slumped against a wall. Only a few minutes passed, but it felt like an eternity. I actually started hallucinating. I thought I was on a school bus. When I came out of it, for a brief moment I couldn't remember where I was. My head felt like a helium balloon.

D. came out to check on me, and after another minute I went back in and we finished the class. I felt fine for the rest of it, and afterwards I was left with a delicious tingling sensation. Bikram is the closest I've come to being on drugs without actually taking any drugs. It's a lot like sex-- a certain amount of gross sweatiness is involved, but the end results are worth it. (Also, it costs $10.)


RIP Dijkstra. The slashdot thread on his death was sweet, in a geeky sort of way. I found this touching:

Final GOTO (Score:5, Funny)
by Anonymous Coward on Wednesday August 07, @08:00PM (#4029519)
GOTO Heaven
[ Reply to This | Parent ]

Re:Final GOTO (Score:5, Funny)
by Turing Machine on Wednesday August 07, @08:03PM (#4029539)
I'll bet he gets there by the shortest path.
[ Reply to This | Parent ]

previous -- next