Journal of Pirate Lingo*

profile

leave me a note

older entries

newest entry

diaryland

* not an actual journal
of pirate lingo

10.09.03 - 12:41 p.m.

I'm into magnatunes because they let me put my money where my mouth is. I've never believed that "all information wants to be free" and I can't say I put much stock in the whole Richard Stallman lunatic fringe arguing against IP. But at the same time I think major record labels are venal criminal syndicates who care about nothing except maintaining a lock on their traditional high-profit business model.

I want to pay for music, but I want to pay a fair price. I want the music digitally with no restrictions and I want a large % of the money I pay to go directly to the artists, not the middlemen. I want to be able to listen to the whole album before deciding if I want it. Magnatunes provides all this. Their artist roster is small right now, but I think it will expand if people support them.

If you like minimal techno check out Belief Systems. The EPROMs album is good & "Boiling" in particular is really tight.

previous -- next