Journal of Pirate Lingo*

profile

leave me a note

older entries

newest entry

diaryland

* not an actual journal
of pirate lingo

04.29.04 - 5:22 p.m.

I'm digging the Slack Album. I like it better then the Grey Album, maybe because I'm a longtime Pavement fan but was never into the Beatles. It still sounds a bit poncey at times, but "Zurich Your Shoulder" and "In The Mouth, An Encore" are surprisingly good.

To get the Slack Album you have to use bittorrent. It's an interesting protocol-- peer to peer, but you have to upload stuff to other people at the same rate as you download it. One consequence of this is that downloads actually get faster as more and more people try to get a file. I'd never tried it before today but it's easy to use-- just install a client like burst, and then you can click on any torrent link you see on the web and start the download.

In other news, my belly button smells like a ripe gym sock. This has been the case for as long as I can recall. I wash it constantly but to no avail. I remember feeling distinctly relieved when I read Philip Lopate's essay "Portrait of my Body" and he copped to the same problem.

previous -- next