Journal of Pirate Lingo*

profile

leave me a note

older entries

newest entry

diaryland

* not an actual journal
of pirate lingo

02.02.05 - 5:06 p.m.

I just learned today that there's a video for "Mr. Clean", one of my favorite MF DOOM tunes! "Mr. Clean" came out under his alias Viktor Vaughn, although confusingly, in the song he claims to be "Kinga, Vaughn's younger brother... a real life swinger who rock Louis Vuitton pleather." Yes, pleather, not leather. See how much you can learn from hip-hop? I didn't even know pleather was a real word until I heard this song.

"Mr. Clean" comes from the album Vaudeville Villain, a highwater mark in the hip hop canon & must-have for anyone who liked Madvillainy. Vaudeville Villain sports some of Doom's finest verbal gymnastics ever, wedded to unusually abstract, IDM-style tracks. Still head-noddin' shit though. A fanboys wet dream.

previous -- next